MSVCR100.DLL error launching SQL Developer 4.1.2 with JDK 8 on Windows 7

Environment: Windows 7 Enterprise SP1 64-bit, SQL Developer with JDK 8 included.

Me again :-)

I recently faced an issue installing SQL Developer 4.1.2 on Windows 7, and it took me some time to find the solution, so I’m going to share it…

I downloaded version 4.1.2 of SQL Developer from, I selected “Windows 64-bit with JDK 8 included” from the list.

I rarely have problems running or upgrading SQL Developer on Windows, but this time was a different experience. After extraction of the zip file to a new folder, I double-clicked “sqldeveloper.exe”, and (surprisingly!) the following error message appeared:

The program can’t start because MSVCR100.dll is missing from your computer. Try reinstalling the program to fix this problem.


Followed by:

Unable to launch the Java Virtual Machine located at path: …


I was confused. The file MSVCR100.dll is part of the included Java Development Kit, so why wasn’t SQL Developer able to find it? I never had an issue like this with previous versions of SQL Developer (I always choose the version with included JDK to avoid Java issues like this one).

After some searches on Google, I found that someone suggested to copy the file MSVCR100.dll from the folder ..\jdk\jre\bin to ..\sqldeveloper\bin, so in my case from C:\sqldeveloper41\jdk\jre\bin to C:\sqldeveloper41\sqldeveloper\bin. Guess what? This worked! SQL Developer started, I could import my previous configuration and everything is looking good :-)



Leave a Reply

